

Oshawa Environmental Advisory Committee Minutes

April 1, 2025, 6:30 p.m. Committee Room

Present: Gregory Waclawek

Joseph Young A.J. Groen

Chris Biancaniello

Tim Spears Councillor Lee

Also Present: F. Bianchet, Council-Committee Coordinator

B. Morris, Planner A

K. Christopher, Council-Committee Coordinator

Public Meeting

Gregory Waclawek, Chair called the meeting to order and advised that all members were participating from the Committee Meeting Room except Tim Spears who was participating electronically.

Land Acknowledgement

The City of Oshawa is situated on lands within the traditional and treaty territory of the Michi Saagiig and Chippewa Anishinaabeg and the signatories of the Williams Treaties, which include the Mississaugas of Scugog Island, Curve Lake, Hiawatha and Alderville First Nations, and the Chippewas of Georgina Island, Rama and Beausoleil First Nations.

We are grateful for the Anishinaabeg who have cared for the land and waters within this territory since time immemorial.

We recognize that Oshawa is steeped in rich Indigenous history and is now present day home to many First Nations, Inuit and Métis people. We express gratitude for this diverse group of Indigenous Peoples who continue to care for the land and shape and strengthen our community.

As a municipality, we are committed to understanding the truth of our shared history, acknowledging our role in addressing the negative impacts that colonization continues to have on Indigenous Peoples, developing reciprocal relationships, and taking meaningful action toward reconciliation.

We are all Treaty people.

Additional Agenda Items

None

Declarations of Pecuniary Interest

None

Presentations

None

Delegations

None

Referrals from Council and Committees

None

Correspondence

OEAC-25-12 - Durham Integrated Growers - Annual Membership

Moved by Joseph Young

That based on Correspondence OEAC-25-12 from the Durham Integrated Growers, the Oshawa Environmental Advisory Committee renew its annual membership for 2025 with Durham Integrated Growers and pay the membership fee in the amount of \$100.00.

Carried

Reports

OEAC-25-13 - Road Salt Working Group Report - April 2025

Moved by A.J. Groen

That Report OEAC-25-13 dated April 1, 2025 concerning the Road Salt Working Group activities for April 2025 be received for information.

Carried

OEAC-25-14 - Tree Giveaway Working Group Report - April 2025

Moved by Joseph Young

- 1. That Report OEAC-25-14 dated April 1, 2025 concerning the Tree Giveaway Working Group activities for April 2025 be endorsed; and,
- 2. That \$7,500.00 of the Oshawa Environmental Advisory Committee operating budget be allocated toward the Tree Giveaway event.

Carried

OEAC-25-15 - Gazebo Working Group Report - April 2025

Moved by Joseph Young

That based on Report OEAC-25-15 dated April 1, 2025 concerning the Gazebo Working Group activities for April 2025:

- 1. That staff investigate the purchase of the following tent options for use at events:
 - E-Z UP Custom Vantage™ Canopy;
 - Impact Canopy CA: 10x10 Custom Canopy DS/CL/ML; and,
- 2. That the tent include a logo on the canvas cover to identify the Oshawa Environmental Advisory Committee and the City of Oshawa; and,
- 3. That the tent be made of a green material if available; and,
- 4. That \$1,750.00 of the Oshawa Environmental Advisory Committee operating budget be allocated toward the cost of the tent.

Carried

Items Introduced by Members

OEAC-25-16 - Creation of a Greening Oshawa Working Group

That a Greening Oshawa Working Group be created in order to organize ideas and details to determine the feasibility of establishing a mini forest in Oshawa as outlined under the Category of 'Community Outreach, Education and Stewardship' in the 2025 Work Plan; and,

That the Working Group consist of four members of the Oshawa Environmental Advisory Committee; and,

That Joseph Young, Chris Biancaniello, Gregory Waclawek and AJ Groen be appointed to the Greening Oshawa Working Group; and,

That Joseph Young be appointed as Chair of the Greening Oshawa Working Group.

Adjournment

Moved by A.J. Groen

That the meeting adjourn at 7:22 p.m.

Carried