INFO-25-74



7855 Sideroad 30 Alliston, ON L9R 1V1 P.: 705-434-5055 F.: 705-434-5051

March 20, 2025

Sent Via Email: premier@ontario.ca

The Honorable Premier Doug Ford Premier's Office Room 281, Legislative Building, Queen's Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

Dear Honourable Premier Doug Ford

## Re: Additional Residential Units in the Oak Ridges Moraine

I am writing to advise that at the Regular Council Meeting held on March 12, 2025, Council of the Township of Adjala-Tosorontio adopted a resolution regarding Additional Residential Units in the Oak Ridges Moraine

The resolution reads as follows:

WHEREAS the Township of Adjala-Tosorontio received a letter from the Minister for Municipal Affairs and Housing, the Honourable Paul Calandra, on November 28, 2024, stating the intent of the province to ensure that municipalities allow for up to 3 Units per lot as of right (without the need to apply for a rezoning), resulting in 2 Additional Residential Units (ARU) per lot in serviced Settlement Areas of the Municipality;

AND WHEREAS the Federal government has initiated the Canada Secondary Suite Loan Program to provide residents the opportunity to avail of incentives and loans up to \$80,000 at low interest rates to ensure that Canada can build a supply of homes to make housing affordable for every generation;

AND WHEREAS residents in all parts of the Township are able to avail of these incentives to build ARU's except those living within the boundaries of the Oak Ridges Moraine;

AND WHEREAS residents in Ward 1 and 2, who live within the Oak Ridges Moraine, are unable to take advantage of the Federal and Provincial incentives to build even a single ARU within their lots, either a basement suite or an ancillary garden suite on their properties due to the current prohibition within the Oak Ridges Moraine Conservation Act;

AND WHEREAS allowing for multi-family residential units with ARU's in the Oak Ridges Moraine would permit for older residents to stay in their own homes for longer and further allow for younger people and families to live in their own units with their own independence to allow them to save money to one day afford their own home;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the province be requested to review the Oak Ridges Moraine Conservation Plan to permit ARU's generally within the Oak Ridges Moraine;

www.adjtos.ca



AND FURTHER THAT a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier, Honourable Paul Calandra, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Brian Saunderson, MPP Simcoe-Grey, all MPP's within the Oak Ridges Moraine Plan, to the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and to all municipalities within the Oak Ridges Moraine Conservation Plan.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact myself by email at <u>rredit@adjtos.ca</u> or phone at 705-434-5055 ext. 263.

Sincerely,

Reid

Robin Reid Clerk

Cc: Honorable Premier Doug Ford Honorable Rob Flack, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing Brian Saunderson, MPP Simcoe-Grey Terry Dowdall, MP, Simcoe-Grey Todd McCarthy, MPP, Durham Region Rob Cerjanec, MPP, Ajax Laurie, Scott, MPP, Haliburton—Kawartha Lakes-Brock Jennifer K. French, MPP, Oshawa Hardeep Singh Grewal, MPP, Brampton East Hon. Graham McGregor, MPP, Brampton North Amarjot Sandhu, MPP, Brampton West Prabmeet Singh Sarkaria, MPP, Brampton South Charmaine A. Williams, MPP, Brampton Centre Hon. Sylvia Jones, MPP, Dufferin-Caledon Deepak Anand, MPP, Mississauga-Malton Rudy, Cuzzetto, MPP, Mississauga — Lakeshore Natalia Kusendova-Bashta, MPP, Mississauga Centre Kaleed Rasheed, MPP, Mississauga East-Cooksville Sheref, Sabawy, MPP, Mississauga-Erin Mills Nina, Tangri, MPP, Mississauga — Streetsville Hon. Caroline Mulroney, MPP, York -Simcoe Dawn Gallangher Murphy, MPP, Newmarket-Aurora Hon. Michael Parsa, MPP, Aurora —Oak Ridges —Richmond Hill Stephen Lecce, MPP, King—Vaughan Hon. Michael A. Tibollo, MPP Vaughan-Woodbridge Billy Pang, MPP, Markham — Unionville

www.adjtos.ca



7855 Sideroad 30 Alliston, ON L9R 1V1 P.: 705-434-5055 F.: 705-434-5051

Daisy Wai, MPP, Richmond Hill Bobbi Ann Brady, MPP, Haldimand —Norfolk Hon. Andrea Khanjin, MPP, Barrie — Innisfil Hon. Doug Downey, MPP, Barrie — Springwater-Oro-Medonte Hon. Jill Dunlop, MPP, Simcoe North Patrice Barnes, MPP, Ajax Lorne, Coe, MPP, Whitby Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) All municipalities within the Oak Ridges Moraine Conservation Plan: Town of Aiax Township of Brock Municipality of Clarington City of Oshawa City of Pickering Township of Scugog Township of Uxbridge Town of Whitby City of Brampton Town of Caledon City of Mississauga Town of Aurora The Town of East Gwillimbury Town of Georgina Township of King City of Markham Town of Newmarket City of Richmond Hill City of Vaughan Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury Township of Essa Town of Innisfil Town of New Tecumseth Township of Oro-Medonte Township of Ramara Township of Severn Township of Springwater



www.adjtos.ca