INFO-24-215



Town of Tillsonburg Office of the Clerk 200 Broadway, Suite 204 Tillsonburg, ON N4G 5A7

> Tel: (519) 688-3009 Fax: (519) 842-9431

October 11, 2024

Minister of Transportation Hon. Prabmeet Singh Sarkaria Email: <u>minister.mto@ontario.ca</u>

MPP Oxford Ernie Hardeman Email: <u>Ernie.Hardeman@pc.ola.org</u>

SCOR EDC Email: <u>do@scorregion.com</u>

Re: Continued Funding Support - Southwest Community Transit

Please be advised that the Town of Tillsonburg Council, at its meeting held on October 7, 2024 considered the aforementioned topic and subsequent to discussion, the following was resolved:

Resolution # 2024-474

Moved By: Councillor Luciani Seconded By: Councillor Spencer

Whereas the County of Brant, Middlesex County, Municipality of Strathroy Caradoc, Norfolk County, Municipality of East Zorra Tavistock, Grey County, Perth County, City of Stratford, Municipality of Lambton Shores, and Wellington County have successful utilized government funding to create and sustain local community transit through Southwest Community Transit; and

Whereas 85,000 riders have utilized the Southwest Community Transit services in the first have of 2024 alone, demonstrating significant community reliance on these services; and

Whereas the economic impact of this transit system is estimated to be \$748,800,000 annually, largely due to its role in providing transportation to employment opportunities; and Whereas the current funding for this critical small urban and rural



inter-community transit service is set to expire in March 2025, putting the sustainability of the service at risk:

Therefore be it resolved that the Town of Tillsonburg council urges the provincial government to continue funding Southwest Community Transit beyond March 2025 to ensure the ongoing viability of this essential service for small urban and rural Ontario

Be it further resolved that this resolution be circulated to the County of Brant, Elgin County, Middlesex County, Norfolk County, Oxford County, Municipality of Strathroy Caradoc, Municipality of East Zorra Tavistock, Perth County, City of Stratford, Municipality of Lambton Shores, Wellington County, Bruce County, Municipality of Bayham, Municipality of Thames Centre and other relevant stakeholders for their support and advocacy.

Carried

As per the above resolution, please accept a copy of this correspondence for your information and consideration.

Sincerely,

Lama lickersgill

Laura Pickersgill Executive Assistant Town of Tillsonburg

Cc: All Ontario municipalities